University of Melbourne Archives

Home | Search Collections | Browse Collections | Search Digitised Items | Help
Catalogue Entries
Records Creators
Back | View creator's records
Sisters Publishing Ltd
History : Sisters Publishing was established in 1979 by five women publishers: Diana Gribble, Hilary McPhee, Sally Milner, Anne O'Donovan and Joyce Nicholson. It was a feminist company whose purpose was to publish fiction, non-fiction and poetry by and for women. To limit the problems of distribution, they also ran a mail-order organisation, Sisters Bookclub, which provided its members with a quarterly newsletter and books by female authors as well as its own publications at discount prices. The company had considerable success; they published eleven titles, including first works by Beverley Farmer and Jean Bedford, and bookclub membership reached 3000 subscribers from all parts of Australia. However its policy of offering discounted books meant that the company had little long-term viability and in 1984 it ceased operation.
Activities/Occupation: Publishers
Back | View creator's records