University of Melbourne Archives

Home | Search Collections | Browse Collections | Search Digitised Items | Help
Catalogue Entries
Records Creators
Back | View creator's records
University Of Melbourne. Faculty Of Arts
History : Previous Control no. UA12 The Faculty was created in 1903, and usually met eight times per year. The first Dean was classics professor Thomas George Tucker. The Faculty was to consist of the professors and independent lecturers in the departments of Arts Letters and Education and such other members as may from time to time be appointed by the Council under the provisions of Statute IV1.(d) 1903. The Dean would be a professor elected by a majority of members on the Faculty during the last term of every year. The Faculty was to consider all questions relating to the educational and administreative business of the Faculty; report to Council on questions submitted to it by Council; report to the Professorial Board on any question submitted to it by the Board; consider annually dates and details of subjects and examinations; advise the Professorial Board on all applications for admission ad eundum statum and/or ad eundum gradum.
Activities/Occupation: University committee
Back | View creator's records